Sonic Spinball
Image: Sega

When people talk about their Sonic soundtracks, Sonic Spinball isn't necessarily at the top of the list. It isn't as bouncy as the first three Sonic games, nor as accessible as the music for the newer 3D entires. But that's what we argue makes it so great.

Composed by Howard Drossin, Brian Coburn, and Barry Blum – all part of the team at the Sega Institute responsible for the pinball-inspired spin-off – the soundtrack incorporates musical elements from a variety of unexpected genres, including industrial, jungle, and funk. This makes it a true one-of-a-kind Sonic score.

And that's we're happy to reveal it is finally coming to vinyl, through a collaboration between Sega and the fine folks at Data Discs.

DATA025Blue 1080x.jpg
Image: Sega / Data Discs

According to Data Discs, the vinyl will cost £23.99 and will come in three variations:

  • 180g Frosted Clear with Translucent Blue Stripes (Limited Edition)
  • 180g Translucent Blue
  • 180g Classic Black

Its audio has been sourced from Sonic Team's own archive, as well as the Japanese Mega Drive system, and has been remastered and cut at 45rpm. It will come packaged in a laminated cover, which will bear the amazing cover art of Sonic 2 illustrator Greg Martin.

From the track listing, it looks like all of the soundtrack is present and accounted for. It includes:

A1. Logo / A2. Title Screen / A3. Introduction / A4. Toxic Caves / A5. Emerald Collected / A6. Boss / A7. Lava Powerhouse / A8. Bonus Stage / B1. The Machine / B2. All Emeralds Collected / B3. Showdown / B4. Credits/Options / B5. Lava Powerhouse (European Ver.) / B6. Game Over

The record is available to order on Saturday 9th July at 7:00pm BST / 2:00pm EDT / 11:00am PDT, with orders apparently being shipped before August 10th. To find out more, and to snag a copy for yourself, head over to this link.

[source data-discs.com]